VALAR WATCH
Key findingsTheir claims, annotatedEvidenceTake action
374 facts · 512 sources · updated 2026-09-30

Fact plan-015

newrecordconfirmed Valarin fuel plant: approved papers call it part of a 12-month demo; Valar calls it the future largest US maker
2025-10 · plan-015 · Valar Atomics, U.S. Department of Energy, Orangeville City Council

Valar's Quality Assurance Program Description (October 2025, status 'Approved'; the only published Valar document read that covers the fuel plant) treats the Ward250 reactor and the 'Valarin Fuel Fabrication Facility' as one 'VASR Facility' and scales its quality rules to the facility's 'limited operational duration of approximately 12 months' and 'low hazard category', with full implementation required before fuel receipt. It says the fuel lab will make TRISO particles in graphite compacts using German HOBEG methods and is designed to stay below DOE Hazard Category 3 (orig-038, safe-031). Set beside this: on 11 June 2026 Valar's representative told Orangeville the second building will make Valar 'the largest manufacturer of this fuel in the United States' once completed; July 2026 job posts describe 'pilot scale uranium processing equipment' and a process that 'transitions into production' (loc-019); DOE's program page still lists Valar's fuel-line selection (30 September 2025) as conditional, with no later status; POWER (25 August 2026), listing Valar among 13 projects added to DOE's Nuclear Energy Launch Pad, says Valar is developing a 'co-located Valarin facility' for TRISO particles and compacts, and notes that project scopes were not disclosed. No NSDA, safety analysis, DOE authorization or state license for the fuel plant has been published (safe-031), and no public document says how much uranium it may hold or produce. A quality program sized for a 12-month demonstration is a different thing from a production plant; the record does not show which rules would apply to production. The quality program gives no uranium inventory, enrichment or threshold for its <HC3 claim, and the safety agreement never mentions the fuel facility (it categorizes only the reactor, as Hazard Category 2), so the claim cannot be checked from Valar's public papers.

In plain termsNext to the reactor, Valar is setting up a small factory to make its own uranium fuel pellets. The only approved paperwork anyone can read describes the whole site, fuel plant included, as a one-year demonstration with light rules to match. But Valar tells local councils this plant will become the biggest maker of this fuel in the country. Those are two very different things, and no public document yet explains what safety rules apply if it becomes a real production plant.
verified 2026-09-29: Verify pass 2026-09-29: QAPD re-read (Approved; Ward250 and Valarin as one VASR Facility; ~12 months; <HC3; full implementation before fuel receipt; HOBEG). Orangeville quote exact. 'Transitions into production' is in the CVD engineer post (feed source added), not the process engineer post. POWER wording corrected: it does not place the Valarin facility 'under' Launch Pad, and says scopes were not disclosed. Correction 2026-09-29 (calculation audit): added that the <HC3 claim gives no inventory or threshold and cannot be checked.

In tabs: plans, operations, safety, government · file plans_ops