VALAR WATCH
Key findingsTheir claims, annotatedEvidenceTake action
374 facts · 512 sources · updated 2026-09-30

Fact safe-033

newrecordconfirmed Incidents: none on the public record, but DOE's occurrence reports are closed to the public
2026-09-29 · safe-033 · U.S. Department of Energy, Valar Atomics

Valar's NSDA commits Ward 250 to DOE's occurrence reporting order (NE O 232.1), accident investigations (NE O 225.1), ES&H reporting, independent oversight, and DOE's employee concerns and differing professional opinion programs (which DOE-STD-1271 says allow no alternative). DOE's Occurrence Reporting and Processing System page says access to occurrence reports is restricted to approved DOE and DOE contractor personnel; that page describes the department-wide order (DOE O 232.2A), while the NSDA commits to the Office of Nuclear Energy's own order, and whether Ward 250's reports go into the same system is not stated in any record read. No public report of an incident, occurrence, violation, enforcement action or worker injury at Ward 250, NOVA or the fuel line was found in DOE, state or news sources read as of 29 September 2026. OSHA's site refused our reader (robots.txt 403), so its inspection database could not be searched. Absence of a public record is not evidence that nothing happened; DOE's occurrence reports for Ward 250 can be requested under FOIA. Valar's quality program (p.20) cites a different occurrence-reporting order, NE O 232.2; in DOE's own numbering 232.2 (2011) replaced 232.1 (1990s). The NE orders are not public, so which is current cannot be checked.

In plain termsIf something goes wrong at a DOE-authorized reactor, the operator must report it to DOE in a formal 'occurrence report'. DOE's occurrence database is open only to approved DOE and contractor staff, and it is not stated whether Ward 250's reports go there. We found no public report of any incident at Ward 250, but because the database is closed, that tells us little. A FOIA request is the way to find out.
verified 2026-09-29: Re-read NSDA p. 45-46, the ORPS page and DOE-STD-1271 Attachment 1 on 2026-09-29. Holds. Fixed: the ORPS page covers DOE O 232.2A; the NSDA's NE O 232.1 reports are not shown to go into ORPS, so the plain text no longer asserts it. Web search found no public incident report. Correction 2026-09-29 (calculation audit): added that the quality program cites NE O 232.2.

In tabs: safety, operations, government · file safety