Claims vs Record disc-001
documented conflicttechnical Ward 250's fuel: Valar's safety agreement lists 4.95% uranium; its Los Alamos release and DOE's shipping review say HALEU
What was said
- Valar Atomics and Los Alamos National Laboratory (joint Project NOVA release on Valar's site) (2025-11-18): Calls the NOVA test core "HALEU TRISO-fueled" and says NOVA uses "the same fuel, moderator, and reactivity-control scheme as Ward250".Los Alamos National Laboratory and Valar Atomics Announce Project NOVA Criticality Milestone in Nevada (Valar Atomics / Los Alamos National Laboratory (joint release on Valar's site), 2025-11-18)
- Valar Atomics (Ward250 Nuclear Safety Design Agreement, Table 6, page 52; the safety paper Valar says DOE approved) (2025-10): Lists Ward 250's fuel enrichment as "4.95% U-235" on the basis of "LEU limits", in a core of 76 fuel elements holding about 250 kg of heavy metal.
What the record shows
- DOE's Safety Evaluation Report for the Model 9979 shipping package (approved 20 May 2026) reviews 'limited shipments of high-assay low-enriched uranium (HALEU)' TRISO fuel compacts from Los Alamos's criticality center in Nevada to the Ward 250 site; it says the uranium is 'enriched to a maximum of 19.9 wt.% U-235', 234.94 grams of U-235 per fuel block, and that the block's end use is 'as a fuel element in the Valar Ward 250 Microreactor'.Safety Evaluation Report, Letter Amendment of Certificate of Compliance No. 9979 for the Model 9979 Package, Docket 26-35-9979 (U.S. Department of Energy, Packaging Certification Program, 2026-05-20)
- DOE's own definition: today's reactors use fuel enriched up to 5% U-235; HALEU is enriched 'between 5% and less than 20%'. 4.95% is ordinary low-enriched uranium; 19.9% is about four times as rich.What is High-Assay Low-Enriched Uranium (HALEU)? (U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy, 2024-12-03)
- Every public copy of the safety agreement, from the Internet Archive's copy of 7 November 2025 to the live file read on 29 September 2026, carries the same 4.95% line; it was not revised after DOE's May 2026 shipping review or the June 2026 criticality.Ward250 NSDA Rev 02: Internet Archive copy of 18 Sept 2026 (text identical to the copies of 7 Nov 2025 onward; dir-009) (Valar Atomics (via Internet Archive), 2025-10)
- The safety agreement itself says that if the fuel differs from its assumed specification, 'the affected performance parameters and safety analysis assumptions will be updated in the PDSA'. The PDSA and final safety analysis are not public, so whether DOE's approved analysis covers HALEU cannot be checked.Ward250 Nuclear Safety Design Agreement, No. 100403, Rev 02 (status: Draft), page 11 (Valar Atomics, 2025-10)
- The state's lease memo for the Carbon County campus says uranium delivered there may be HALEU, 'LEU+' or LEU, without saying which.09.17.2026 TLA Board Packet (Item 10A: SULA 2095-OBA Board of Trustees Memorandum, Carbon County letter, lease map) (Utah Trust Lands Administration (Utah Public Notice Website), 2026-09-17)
- For the company: the safety agreement is an early design-stage paper (status 'Draft', October 2025, filed before the preliminary safety analysis). It calls its fuel-performance assumptions 'preliminary', to be 'validated in the PDSA', and its fuel-qualification basis is 'AGR-1/2 irradiation test data'. Its update clause names fuel differing from AGR-specification TRISO; it does not single out the enrichment line.Ward250 Nuclear Safety Design Agreement, No. 100403, Rev 02 (status: Draft), pages 11, 25 and 52 (Valar Atomics, 2025-10)
- Against that reading: the NOVA core, which Valar says uses 'the same fuel' as Ward 250, began its approach to criticality on 12 November 2025 with HALEU TRISO fuel Valar says it provided, 30 days after the 4.95% paper was posted (13 October 2025). No public record we read explains why the October paper lists 4.95%.Los Alamos National Laboratory and Valar Atomics Announce Project NOVA Criticality Milestone in Nevada (Valar Atomics / Los Alamos National Laboratory (joint release on Valar's site), 2025-11-18)
- DOE's shipping review says the HALEU compacts would move from the National Criticality Experiments Research Center in Nevada, where NOVA ran, to the Ward 250 site. A DOE office therefore reviewed HALEU for this reactor; the mismatch is in the public paper, not proof that DOE reviewed the wrong fuel.Safety Evaluation Report, Letter Amendment of Certificate of Compliance No. 9979 for the Model 9979 Package, Docket 26-35-9979 (U.S. Department of Energy, Packaging Certification Program, 2026-05-20)
The gap: Valar's only public safety paper for Ward 250 lists 4.95% (ordinary) uranium. Valar's own Los Alamos release a month later calls the same fuel HALEU, and DOE's shipping review cleared HALEU of up to 19.9% U-235 for use in Ward 250. A reading favourable to the company, which Valar has not stated, is that the paper's fuel figures were preliminary design values to be corrected in a later safety analysis DOE reviewed; it is plausible: the paper calls its fuel assumptions preliminary. It does not remove the conflict: the NOVA core began its approach to criticality with HALEU TRISO fuel Valar says it provided on 12 November 2025, 30 days after the 4.95% paper was posted, and no correction to the public paper was found. Whether DOE's approved safety analysis describes HALEU is not shown by any public record.
In plain termsReactor fuel is graded by how much of the uranium is the kind that splits (U-235). Ordinary power-plant fuel has up to 5%; HALEU has 5% to just under 20%. Ward 250 burns TRISO fuel: poppy-seed-sized beads of uranium, each sealed in layers of carbon and ceramic and pressed into small pellets. Valar's only public safety paper says the uranium is 4.95%, the ordinary grade. Valar's own Los Alamos announcement a month later calls the same fuel HALEU, and DOE cleared fuel blocks for Ward 250 enriched up to 19.9%, about four times richer. A possible explanation, which Valar has not stated, is that the paper was an early draft whose fuel numbers were updated in a later safety analysis DOE reviewed; the paper does call its fuel assumptions 'preliminary.' That may be so, but the later analysis is not public and no correction to the public paper was found. The one safety document the public can read describes different fuel from the fuel DOE cleared for this reactor.
Why it matters: The fuel grade changes the reactor's physics and how much fissile uranium sits in Emery County. The public safety paper does not describe that fuel.
What would settle it: FOIA to DOE Idaho Operations Office for the fuel specification and core description in Ward 250's approved PDSA and final DSA, the Technical Safety Requirements and DOE's Safety Evaluation Report; FOIA to DOE Savannah River Operations Office and NNSA Nevada Field Office for the shipment records under the Model 9979 letter amendment; or Valar publishing the as-loaded enrichment.